Rediscovered posts about TDD

I rediscovered some old blog posts about my view of TDD yesterday.

It’s in Swedish and they discuss TDD from three different points of view: safety net, documentative effect and design implications.

I also re-read an article about using TDD in games development and that article mentions an aspect of TDD which I didn’t discuss in my TDD posts: the quick-feedback effect.

The quick-feedback-effect might be the least obvious of the four; but nonetheless I think it might be the most important one from a psychological/human viewpoint.

I want to discuss what I mean with that more deeply in some other post, but in short it’s the idea that getting feedback from your software quickly is nice. TDD reimburses your efforts faster than manual testing, and reimbursement is fundamental to keep programming fun.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment