Trusting my GTD system


Theophilos / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

I have been learning about Getting Things Done, GTD, for little more than a month by now.

I’ve slowly come to complete my own ad-hoc system — and I am now quite satisfied with it. It now includes a daily morning ritual of 10 minutes inbox processing, as well as an improved contextual TODO-system (Google Keep can have images on top! Great for @person lists, @webbrowser or @skype and so on. Try it!).

But a thing that kept nagging in the back of my mind was that I had yet to add a weekly review to my system.

So I set aside 2 h to do this at a café, where I made sure they had WiFi as well as a socket for charging my less-than-one-hour-battery laptop.

Sitting down with a large cup of coffee reviewing my now 80+ project list took quite some energy, but it was really worth it. I only got through half of my “open loops” (a.k.a. projects), making sure they had a Next-step, as well as clear goal image and an answer to the question “Why am I doing this project at all?”.

I did not get any time to look through my “someday” and “review”* lists, but as it was my first time I believe 2 h will be enough to refresh the whole project list and the someday/review list.

Not least when I start doing this every week instead of once per month 🙂

* the review tag is my own device, basically listing any annoyances I’ve felt in my own GTD system

Leave a Reply

